Category Archives: 2013

Football Writers Association Awards Dinner

Tottenham midfielder Gareth Bale revealed he felt humbled to have taken his place among the “legends” of the Football Writers’ Association Footballer of the Year.

The Wales international, 23, topped the poll of journalists for 2012/2013 with a narrow victory over Manchester United forward Robin van Persie, who was last year’s recipient when at Arsenal.

Click here for Gallery

Gareth Bale

Gareth Bale has won the Football Writers’ Association’s Footballer of the Year award for a second year running.

Alex Ferguson announces retirement

Sir Alex Ferguson will step down as Manchester United manager at the end of the season after 26 years in charge.

The Scot, 71, has won 38 trophies during his reign at Old Trafford and will now become a director and ambassador for the club.

His haul includes 13 league titles, two Champions League crowns, five FA Cups and four League Cups.

Margaret Thatcher

Margaret Hilda Thatcher, Baroness Thatcher, née Roberts (13 October 1925 – 8 April 2013), was a British politician, the longest-serving (1979–1990) Prime Minister of the United Kingdom of the 20th century, and the only woman to have held the post. A Soviet journalist called her the “Iron Lady”, a nickname which became associated with her uncompromising politics and leadership style. As Prime Minister, she implemented policies that have come to be known as Thatcherism.